Week 9 – Application of Technology and Privacy

Activity 9 – Digital Citizenship Reflection

In this activity I chose Glogster to create a poster about protecting your privacy, personal information and identity online. I have incorporated the same digital poster activity into my digital citizenship strategies below.

Digital Citizenship Poster

kellis-poster

 

ePortfolio Reflection – Digital Citizenship Strategies for the Classroom

Schools are responsible for teaching children life skills, and important life skills for today and the future include protecting themselves and respecting others online. I think teachers can effectively incorporate and model digital citizenship by maintaining a PLN and using it as a resource for the classroom. Not only can the teacher’s PLN include curriculum resources, but it will allow the teacher to demonstrate digital citizenship “best practices” to students. In particular, teachers can demonstrate practices for controlling privacy and one’s online persona. Having students create their own PLN and link it to the teacher’s PLN (or even a class blog) will allow students to apply the practices as they are learning them.

I think that lessons that incorporate opportunities for students to connect via social media enables students to “learn through doing” in terms of respectful and appropriate conduct towards other online.  Doing so in a classroom environment, where students do also interact face-to-face, allows for students to gather direct feedback via face-to-face contacts, which will inform their developing online persona (which will hopefully be transferrable to the broader social media world).

For a lesson, I think I could create a dynamic lesson to demonstrate how publicly shared information becomes the object of surveillance. I would start by sharing my Facebook profile with the class, displayed on the classroom smartboard. As a class, we would look at the advertisements that are “served” to me, review my personal information and some of my posts, and try to identify what information I have shared that might have resulted in me being targeted for the types of advertising being served up.  I would divide my classroom into 4-5 groups, and have each group create a fake (anonymous) profile in a social networking site. I would have each group population the personal information fields, create links to interest groups, add some posts, etc. Then I would have each group do an audit of the advertising that is served up (the same process we went through as a class with my Facebook profile), and then have them research the advertizers to find information on their marketing plans/strategies. I believe this lesson would help students understand how the types of information they post online might be used and linked to other information, and to become more thoughtful about what they decide to post and what advertising, for instance, it might elicit (and how what is elicited might reflect on their own online persona). It would also help students gain an understanding of the role social media plays in corporate marketing plans, in good ways and bad; for instance, how a small, non-franchised local restaurant that you like might use a Facebook ad to promote itself to your “friends” in the same community.

I liked the EDIT 202 poster activity this week, and think this would also be a good activity to incorporate into my lesson. I would have students create a digital poster that summarizes points from the lessons described above.

Leave a comment

Filed under Digital Citizenship

Leave a Reply

